GR8MUSICROX’S Wide Open Bluegrass List for Friday 9/27

GR8! Who should I see during WOB?

My favorite thing to do is to discover new acts for myself. So I won’t push you too hard to see one act over another. With IBMA curating the ticketed events and our own Pinecone managing Street Fest, you will see the best sampling of legends, locals, and emerging artists.

If you have your fill of traditional music then you can walk down the street and listen to a blues guy.

Here are my choices. I don’t have any traditional Bluegrass acts on this list.

Update: I forgot 23 String Band. I saw them for free one Sunday and was blown away. Very tight. 9:45 – 11:00 pm. Young fellas doing pretty close to traditional Bluegrass.

FRIDAY, 9/27

  Stage Artist Blurb
12:00-12:45 Martin St. Nixon, Blevins & Gage Local Folk Americana cover band. Some orig. Heavy on the Doc Watson style. Nice break from Bluegrass (no offense). Banjo and Mando free.
12:00 – 1:00 Dance Tent Square Dance with The Southern String Band How can you come to a BG festival and not give square dancing a whirl?
1:15-2:00 Center The Bankesters I tried not to like them because they are adorable and a family band. I love them because they are an adorable family band. Nice original songs and harmonies.  IBMA Female Vocalist Winner.
1:30 – 2:15 Hargett St Lindsay Lou & the Flatbellys Michigan band. She thinks she’s Bluegrass but Doc would tell her otherwise. I’d say more indy folk / pop. They should relocate here. They’d fit right into our scene.New to me.
2:30-3:15 Center Reno & Harrell Let’s see if these Sons of Legends can stand on their own merits. New to me.
2:30-3:15 Kids Loose Strings All girl teenage Bluegrass band from Galax. This might be just what I need to balance out the rhinestones and cowboy shirts.
2:45-3:30 Hargett St. Jerron Paxton “Blind Boy” Paxton An acoustic bluesman!
4:00 – 4:45 Hargett St. Finnders & Youngberg Ft. Collins, CO. I love the BG coming from CO. It’s not as traditional as the old timers would like but this band has nice songs and lush harmonies.New to me.
5:15-6:00 Hargett St. The Stray Birds PA band. Contemporary folk with a few BG tunes.
5:30-6:15 Martin St. Red June Asheville band. Shakori faves. She is sassy! They are talented. Won Chris Austin Songwriting Contest this year. You won’t be able to stay for the whole thing because you aren’t going to miss the Kruger Brothers.
6:15-7:15 Center Stage The Kruger Brothers Intl.Symphonic arrangements to BGDO NOT MISS
6:30 – 7:30 Hargett St. The Honeycutters Asheville. I have seen them a couple times. Like them. Again, not really traditional BG but there are still two days left. Pace yourself.
8:00-9:15 Hargett St. The Steel Wheels 4 guys singing and playing around a multi-pattern mic. Nothing new but they are quite energetic. They took top awards at the AMA Festival in 2010.
9:30-10:45 CenterStage The SteelDrivers NashvilleBluegrassGrammy Winners

New to me

On my list to check out

9:30 – 10:30 Dance Tent Open Dance with Mel Melton & the Wicked Mojos Local Zydeco / Blues Band from DurhamA local favoriteSure to get you dancing
Leave a Reply

