Sweet Communion of a Kiss

In a songwriter’s world full of cliché heartbroken romantic agnostics, Judee Sill’s The Kiss pierces through even the most cynical of hearts–mine.

I recently visited a local watering hole and shared my romantic conquests and failures with a friend. We swore a pact to never let each other go down that “smart women doing dumb things” road again.  “No more jerks, scrubs, control freaks, drunks, and bums.” We clinked our wine glasses. We removed them from our contacts, assigned them new code names like; “Cardboard,” “Dilweed,” or “The Squatter,” and relegated them to social purgatory. They’re not even worthy of membership into our friends’ zone.

By the third glass of wine, we plotted our revenge by praying that their favorite child would marry into the family of a Republican Texas oil tycoon and never be heard from again. “In the name of Oprah,” I cried. “Make it so!” 

“And when I hear that he’s going to attend the very same social function that I’m at with his new but uglier girlfriend, then I will paint on my tightest jeans, push these “girls” up to here, and strut right past that jerk. Even the new girlfriend will dump him for me.” I lean in for a high five attempt but only get air. 

When I got back home and laid down on my Cinderfella couch, the couch I bought with a future “us” in mind, I hear Judee’s psalm:

Sun, siftin’ thru the grey 

Enter in, reach me with a ray

Silently swoopin’ down

Just to show me

How to give my heart away

This song gently admonishes me saying, “Bullshit. Isn’t this what you really want?”  

Judee Sill only released two CDs in her very short, troubled life. Rita Coolidge sang background vocals on her first self titled EP. David Crosby and Graham Nash gave her an audience and stage time.  She was the first artist signed to David Geffen’s first record label, Asylum Records. Her songs have been recorded by the Turtles, Prince Bonnie Billy, Neil Cavanaugh, Beth Orton, and Shawn Colvin. 

Here is her beautiful performance:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LNkSAeA3R_s&feature=related

 

The Kiss –

Judee Sill 1944 – 1979

Love, risin’ from the mists

Promise me this and only this

Holy breath touchin’ me

Like a wind song

Sweet communion of a kiss

 

Sun, siftin’ thru the grey

Enter in, reach me with a ray

Silently swoopin’ down

Just to show me

How to give my heart away

 

And once a crystal choir

Appeared while I was sleepin’ and called my name

And when they came down nearer

Sayin’, “Dyin’ is done”,

Then a new song was sung

Until somewhere we breathed as one

(and still I hear their whisper)

 

Stars, burstin’ in the sky

Hear the sad nova’s dyin’ cry

Shimmerin’ memory

Come and hold me

While you show me how to fly

 

Sun, siftin’ thru the grey

Enter in, reach me with a ray

Silently swoopin’ down

Just to show me

How to give my heart away

 

And lately sparklin’ hosts

Come fill my dreams descendin’ on firey beams

I’ve seen ’em come clear down

Where our poor bodies lay

Soothe us gently and say,

“Gonna wipe all your tears away”

(and still I hear their whisper)

 

Love risin’ from the mists        

Promise me this and only this

Holy breath touchin’ me

Like a wind song

Sweet communion of a kiss… 

Leave a Reply

